The Michigan–Michigan State football rivalry is an American School football rivalry between the University of Michigan Wolverines and Michigan State University Spartans.

Since 1953, the winner of each year’s game has received the Paul Bunyan Trophy. The teams played in 1898 and have met almost every year since 1910 (exceptions in 1943 and 1944). 44 of those first 50 games were played in Ann Arbor, but since then, U of M and MSU have played 30 home games from every other. The contest became a summit rivalry with Michigan State’s entrance into the Big Six Conference in 1950.
The teams have fulfilled 111 occasions with Michigan winning 70 games, Michigan State winning 36 games, and five games end with the score tied. Michigan dominated the show for its first half century, compiling a 33–6–3 record from 1898 to 1949. The wave shifted to Michigan State in the 1950s and 1960s, as the Spartans under head coaches Biggie Munn and Duffy Daugherty compiled a 14–4–two album from 1950 to 1969. The wave then changed back to the Wolverines since Michigan compiled a 30–8 album against the Spartans from 1970 to 2007. Since 2008, Michigan State has dominated the series with a 8–3 album.
Michigan State’s longest winning streak against Michigan is four games. Michigan’s longest winning streak from Michigan State is 14 games.

Read more:

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *